2008 Unadjusted Conversion Factor: $19.97

Chicago — (February 6, 2008) 

ASA is pleased to announce that the 2008 unadjusted Medicare anesthesia conversion factor will be $19.97 per unit, up from $16.19 in 2007. This positive payment update is a culmination of a multi-year effort by ASA to convince both the RUC and CMS that Medicare payments to anesthesiologists were inadequate. ASA members also deserve much credit for inundating CMS with positive comment letters supporting the proposed increase earlier this year.

ASA members should be advised that, unless Congress intervenes, all of medicine will see a 10.1 percent Medicare payment cut due to the SGR beginning on July 1, 2008. The cut was scheduled to take effect on Jan. 1, 2008, but P.L. 110-173 replaced the cut with the short-term 0.5 percent increase.

ASA members are strongly encouraged to contact their Representative and Senators through the Capitol Switchboard, (202) 225-3121, to ask for permanent, meaningful Medicare payment reform and a fix for the Medicare anesthesiology teaching rule. Please check www.ASAhq.org frequently for updates and action alerts.

See attached list for locale-specific conversion factors


Founded in 1905, the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) is an educational, research and scientific society with more than 52,000 members organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology. ASA is committed to ensuring physician anesthesiologists evaluate and supervise the medical care of patients before, during and after surgery to provide the highest quality and safest care every patient deserves.

For more information on the field of anesthesiology, visit the American Society of Anesthesiologists online at asahq.org. To learn more about the role physician anesthesiologists play in ensuring patient safety, visit asahq.org/WhenSecondsCount. Join the ANESTHESIOLOGYTM 2014 social conversation today. Like ASA on Facebook, follow ASALifeline on Twitter and use the hashtag #ANES2014.



American Society of Anesthesiologists