ASA Nominates Lee A. Fleisher, M.D., and Mary Dale Peterson, M.D., M.H.A., to PPACA Committees

Chicago — (June 25, 2010) 

ASA recently nominated two of its members to committees that were established in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA). Lee A. Fleisher, M.D., was nominated to the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute’s (PCORI) Board of Governors. PCORI will be charged with identifying research priorities as well as establishing and implementing a research agenda regarding comparative effectiveness research (CER).

Mary Dale Peterson, M.D., M.H.A., was nominated to the National Health Care Workforce Commission. The purpose of the Commission will be to evaluate workforce issues and examine whether the demand for health care workers is being met. After reviewing projected workforce needs, the Commission will make recommendations to Congress regarding allocation of resources.

PCORI is expected to announce Board selections on September 23, 2010, and the National Workforce Commission will announce appointments no later than September 30, 2010.

Lee A. Fleisher, M.D., nomination letter to the PCORI Board of Governors

Mary Dale Peterson, M.D., M.H.A., nomination letter to the National Health Care Workforce Commission


Founded in 1905, the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) is an educational, research and scientific society with more than 52,000 members organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology. ASA is committed to ensuring physician anesthesiologists evaluate and supervise the medical care of patients before, during and after surgery to provide the highest quality and safest care every patient deserves.

For more information on the field of anesthesiology, visit the American Society of Anesthesiologists online at To learn more about the role physician anesthesiologists play in ensuring patient safety, visit Join the ANESTHESIOLOGYTM 2014 social conversation today. Like ASA on Facebook, follow ASALifeline on Twitter and use the hashtag #ANES2014.



American Society of Anesthesiologists