UPDATE: CMS issues correction to 2010 Physician Fee Schedule—Includes change to Medicare Anesthesia Conversion Factor

Chicago — (January 12, 2010) 


The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has posted a correction to the 2010 Physician Fee Schedule which includes a change in the Medicare anesthesia conversion factor effective January 1, 2010.  The correction incorporates the CY 2010 anesthesia practice expense revisions. 

The national unadjusted Medicare anesthesia conversion factor for services provided from Jan. 1 – Feb. 28, 2010 will be $21.114.  Please click below for a  list of updated locale specific conversion factors.

2010 Conversion Factors by locale

After Feb. 28, all of medicine will see a 21 percent Medicare payment cut due to the Sustainable Growth Rate formula (SGR) unless Congress intervenes.  Without Congressional action, the 2010 unadjusted Medicare anesthesia conversion factor will fall to $16.6109.

All ASA members are strongly encouraged to contact their Representative and Senators through the Capitol Switchboard, (202) 225-3121, to ask for permanent, meaningful Medicare payment reform.  ASA is working closely with key lawmakers to ensure passage of an SGR fix as part of overall health care reform.


Founded in 1905, the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) is an educational, research and scientific society with more than 52,000 members organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology. ASA is committed to ensuring physician anesthesiologists evaluate and supervise the medical care of patients before, during and after surgery to provide the highest quality and safest care every patient deserves.

For more information on the field of anesthesiology, visit the American Society of Anesthesiologists online at asahq.org. To learn more about the role physician anesthesiologists play in ensuring patient safety, visit asahq.org/WhenSecondsCount. Join the ANESTHESIOLOGYTM 2014 social conversation today. Like ASA on Facebook, follow ASALifeline on Twitter and use the hashtag #ANES2014.



American Society of Anesthesiologists