ASA Member Appointed to Minnesota Board of Medical Practice - American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

FDA & Washington Alerts

ASA Member Appointed to Minnesota Board of Medical Practice

Governor Mark Dayton (D) recently announced the appointment of Christopher M. Burkle, M.D., J.D. to the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice. He currently serves as the Chair for ASA’s Committee on Professional Liability while also serving on the editorial board of the Self-Education and Evaluation Program (SEE).

Dr. Burkle attended the John A. Burns School of Medicine at the University of Hawaii where he earned his M.D. He completed his first residency in Integrated Transitional Medicine at the University of Hawaii, and then completed his residency in Anesthesiology at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine. In 2009, he graduated from Hamline University School of Law with his J.D. Dr. Burkle currently serves as an Associate Professor of Anesthesiology with Mayo Clinic. He will be a member of the state Board of Medical Practice until January 4, 2021.

The Minnesota Board of Medical Practice is comprised of 15 members. Dr. Burkle joins Mark A. Eggen, M.D., a Minnesota physician anesthesiologist also serving as a board member.

With the growing range of issues considered by medical and osteopathic boards, it is critical for physician anesthesiologists to seek out appointments to these regulatory agencies. State administrative agencies are extremely important, as they have oversight of medicine and other health professions such as nursing, dentistry and insurance. A physician anesthesiologist’s training and daily experience in the field is valuable to regulatory agencies as questions arise concerning the medical specialties. 

ASA congratulates Dr. Burkle on this appointment.
< Back to

Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More