Update on Departing Members of the 115th Congress - American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

FDA & Washington Alerts

Update on Departing Members of the 115th Congress

With House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-WI-01)’s announcement that he will be retiring at the conclusion of this Congress, ASA has compiled a list of all elected officials in the 115th Congress who have indicated they will not seek re-election. ASA continues to work with all elected officials and will be monitoring for further developments that may impact the legislative and political landscape.

U.S. House of Representatives: 

Resigning or Resigned:
Xavier Becerra, D-CA-34
Jason Chaffetz, R-UT-3
John Conyers Jr., D-MI-13
Charlie Dent, R-PA-15
Blake Farenthold, R-TX-27
Trent Franks, R-AZ-8
Tim Murphy, R-PA-18
Pat Tiberi, R-OH-12 

Ryan A. Costello, R-PA-6
Jim Bridenstine, R-OK-1
Rodney Frelinghuysen, R-NJ-11
Ruben Kihuen, D-NV-4
Carol Shea-Porter, D-NH-1
Dave Trott, R-MI-11
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-FL-27
Paul D. Ryan, R-WI-1
Gregg Harper, R-MS-3
Tom Rooney, R-FL-17
Luis V. Gutierrez, D-IL-4
Gene Green, D-TX-29
Bill Shuster, R-PA-9
Patrick Meehan, R-PA-7
Robert A. Brady, D-PA-1
Dave Reichert, R-WA-8
Lynn Jenkins, R-KS-2
Sander M. Levin, D-MI-9
Elizabeth Esty, D-CT-5
Darrell Issa, R-CA-49
Rick Nolan, D-MN-8
Ed Royce, R-CA-39
Robert W. Goodlatte, R-VA-6
Frank A. LoBiondo, R-NJ-2
Niki Tsongas, D-MA-3
Trey Gowdy, R-SC-4
Dennis A. Ross, R-FL-15
Sam Johnson, R-TX-3
John J. Duncan Jr., R-TN-2
Joe L. Barton, R-TX-6
Lamar Smith, R-TX-21
Ted Poe, R-TX-2
Jeb Hensarling, R-TX-5 

Running for other office
Tim Walz, D-MN-1
Colleen Hanabusa, D-HI-1
James B. Renacci, R-OH-16
Raul R. Labrador, R-ID-1
Kyrsten Sinema, D-AZ-9
Todd Rokita, R-IN-4
Luke Messer, R-IN-6
Diane Black, R-TN-6
Marsha Blackburn, R-TN-7
Ron DeSantis, R-FL-6
John Delaney, D-MD-6
Lou Barletta, R-PA-11
Steve Pearce, R-NM-2
Beto O'Rourke, D-TX-16
Kevin Cramer, R-ND-AL
Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-NM-1
Kristi Noem, R-SD-AL
Martha McSally, R-AZ-2
Evan Jenkins, R-WV-3
Jacky Rosen, D-NV-3
Jared Polis, D-CO-2 

Entered the Administration
Mick Mulvaney, R-SC-5  (Director of Office of Management & Budget)
Mike Pompeo, R-KS-4  (Director of the CIA; Secretary of State nominee)
Tom Price, R-GA-6  (Former Secretary of Health and Human Services)
Ryan Zinke, R-MT-AL (Secretary of Interior)

Louise M. Slaughter, D-NY-25

U.S. Senate 

Resigning or Resigned:
Thad Cochran, R-MS
Al Franken, D-MN

Bob Corker, R-TN
Jeff Flake, R-AZ
Orrin G. Hatch, R-UT

Entered the Administration
Jeff Sessions, R-AL (Attorney General)

< Back to

Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More