Electronic Health Record - American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)

The Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Program is overseen by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) for physicians participating in the Medicare component and individual state Medicaid agencies for physicians participating in the Medicaid program. Similar to other quality reporting programs, the EHR Incentive Program uses payment incentives and payment adjustments to encourage the adoption, implementation and use of certified EHR technology. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act created the EHR Incentive Program.

Under the program there are two categories of professionals: “Hospital-based eligible professionals” and “Eligible Professionals” (EPs). Hospital-based eligible professionals are not eligible to receive the incentive payments and are exempt from future penalties. To be deemed a hospital-based eligible professional, one needs to provide 90 percent or more of their covered services in a hospital inpatient or emergency room setting. CMS determines this by looking at the place of service codes (POS codes) on the codes a physician submits for payment under Medicare (POS code 21 for Inpatient Hospital and POS code 23 for Emergency Room - Hospital). The majority of anesthesiologists do not provide 90 percent or more of their covered services in the hospital inpatient or ER setting unless one exclusively does cardiac, transplant or critical care work.  The majority of the codes submitted by anesthesiologists are for Outpatient Hospital (POS code 22) or Ambulatory Surgical Center (POS code 24).

A majority of anesthesiologists are deemed EPs and thus eligible to receive the incentive payments for demonstrating “meaningful use” of EHRs. Because anesthesiologists were not initially intended to be deemed EPs when the law was debated, many of the meaningful use requirements do not reflect the typical practice of anesthesiology, making it difficult for anesthesiologists to achieve meaningful use. Only a fraction of anesthesiologists have been able to meet Meaningful Use Stage 1 program requirements.

The Hardship Exemption

As a result of ASA’s advocacy efforts, CMS created a hardship exemption for anesthesiologists, which exempts anesthesiologists from payment penalties that will begin in 2015. The exemption recognizes the state of commercially available EHR technology for anesthesiologists, workflow challenges and the nature of the patient-anesthesiologist relationship. The exemption was granted as part of the Meaningful Use Stage 2 Final Rule in 2012.

The hardship exemption is automatically determined and annually based on a physician’s specialty designation under the Provider, Enrollment, Chain and Ownership System (PECOS). Physicians with the Anesthesiology specialty designation of “05” do not need to complete the hardship exemption form. CMS reserves the right to revisit this exemption at any point. ASA has and will continue to advocate that this important exemption be maintained.

Participating in the EHR Incentive Program

Anesthesiologists may attempt to become meaningful users and receive incentives, as the hardship exemption only applies to the penalties. CMS and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) have provided several resources for physicians seeking to participate in the EHR Incentive Program. To learn more about the program, physicians are encouraged to use the CMS eligibility tool and review the CMS-produced "Beginner's Guide". EPs must participate in meaningful use by 2014 to earn incentives under the Medicare program. The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program extends incentives to 2016.

ONC is the “principal federal entity charged with coordination of nationwide efforts to implement and use the most advanced health information technology and the electronic exchange of health information.” ONC supports “the adoption of health information technology” and promotes “nationwide health information exchange to improve health care.” The agency was established in 2004 and mandated through the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH) in 2009. Similar to CMS, ONC is an agency under the Department of Health and Human Services and their participation in and support of various policy committees informs upon the direction and planning of meaningful use requirements within the EHR Incentive Program. ONC provides physicians and practices with a variety of information on how to take the first steps toward implementing EHRs in your practice, achieving meaningful use and supporting the implementation of EHRs. ONC also supports educational efforts on HIT implementation and use of EHRs. 

ASA Regulatory and Legislative Action

ASA continues to advocate that the criteria to meet meaningful use be applicable to anesthesiologists. In 2013, ASA stressed the importance of maintaining the hardship exemption in comments submitted to the ONC Health IT Policy Committee regarding their recommendations for Meaningful Use Stage 3. ASA supported the Health IT Policy Committee's recommendation to exclude specialists from the prevention reminder objective and to exclude eligible professionals who do not administer immunizations from the immunization objective. ASA also recommended excluding anesthesiologists from other requirements, including the clinical summary requirement, syndromic surveillance, e-communication with patients and computerized order entry for transfers of care objectives. ASA expressed support for allowing reporting to a registry as a menu objective. ASA also recommended additional flexibility for physicians who achieve a close percentage of the objectives.

ASA has also worked with Representative Diane Black (TN-06) on legislation that, if enacted into law, would ease anesthesiologists’ participation in the EHR Incentive Program by exempting anesthesiologists from some of the criteria required to demonstrate meaningful use. Such criteria include exempting anesthesiologists from providing clinical summaries to patients, exempting anesthesiologists from being required to provide patients with an electronic copy of their health information and exempting anesthesiologists and other eligible professionals from implementing drug-to-drug and drug-to-allergy interaction checks.

ASA Statements and Comment Letters

Recent Activity (April 2015):

ASA Staff is currently reviewing three proposed rules from CMS and ONC. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released two proposed rules in recent weeks: Medicare and Medicaid Programs; Electronic Health Record Incentive Program - Modifications to Meaningful Use in 2015 through 2017  and  Medicare and Medicaid Programs: Electronic Health Record Incentive Program Stage 3.  The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) also released a proposed rule Health Information Technology Certification Criteria, Base Electronic Health Record Definition, and ONC Health IT Certification Program Modifications.

Meaningful Use Objectives and Criteria Resource

When the EHR Incentive Program was launched, ASA compiled a table linking individual Meaningful Use Stage 1 Objectives and Criteria with their applicability to the workplace environment that an anesthesiologist typically practices. Please note that slight changes have been made on several of the meaningful use objectives since the publication of this table.

Please direct your questions on the EHR Incentive Program to the ASA Quality and Regulatory Affairs (QRA) Department. QRA may be contacted at (202) 289-2222 or by e-mail at qra@asahq.org.

Thank You Industry Supporters

Whose contributions allow the American Society of Anesthesiologists® to create world-class education and resources to improve patient care and outcomes.

Learn More