CMS released the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) Final Rule (view Executive Summary) on October 14, 2016.  


The U.S. Congress passed the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) in Spring 2015 to replace the Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR). In doing so, Congress sunsets the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS), Value-Based Payment Modifier (VM) and the Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Program after 2018.

Under MACRA, ASA members and other health care professionals will receive future Medicare payments by participating (dependent upon patient population and volume) in one of two broad categories known as the Quality Payment Program (QPP): payments through the Merit-based Incentive Payment Systems (MIPS) or through an Alternative Payment Model (APM). The payment system will begin in 2019 and be based in many instances upon 2017 performance. 

ASA had a measured response to MACRA Legislation in 2015 – not endorsing or opposing the legislation – because of both MACRA’s uncertainties and its failure to directly address the “33 percent” problem.

Contact Information 
For questions on MACRA, please email